Labrador Iron Mines

Holdings Limited

  Corporate Information
  Shareholder Information
  Labrador Iron Mines
  Houston Iron Royalties
  Environment & Social
  News Centre
  Contact Us

Corporate Information

Vision and Strategy
Board of Directors
Advisors & Consultants

Directors and Executive Officers

John F. Kearney - Chairman & CEO

John Kearney has over 40 years of experience in the mining industry. He is also Chairman or Director of a number of public companies including Canadian Zinc Corporation and Anglesey Mining plc. Mr. Kearney is also a Director of the Mining Association of Canada and is the immediate Past President of the Northwest Territories and Nunavut Chamber of Mines. Mr. Kearney is a member of the Prospectors and Developers Association of Canada, Canadian Institute of Mining and Metallurgy and the Law Society of Ireland. He holds degrees in law and economics from University College Dublin and an M.B.A. degree from Trinity College Dublin. He qualified as a solicitor in Ireland and as a chartered secretary with the Institute of Chartered Secretaries and Administrators in London.

Matthew Coon Come - Director

Mr. Matthew Coon Come is Grand Chief of the Crees of Northern Quebec and a Board Member of the Grand Council of the Crees (Eeyou Istchee) and the Cree Regional Authority. He was National Chief of the Assembly of First Nations from 2000 to 2003 and previously was Grand Chief of the Grand Council of the Crees in Qubec for 12 years from 1987 to 1999. Earlier he served two terms as Chief of the Mistassini First Nation. Mr. Coon Come is a Founding Member of the Board of Compensation of the Cree Nation and has been a director of Creeco; AirCreebec, Cree Regional Intercompany Enterprise Company and Cree Construction Company and Chairman of Cree Housing Corporation and James Bay Native Development Corporation. He was a founding director of the First Nations Bank of Canada. In 1998 he was awarded the Goldman Prize (Environmental Award) in recognition of his leadership marshalling local, national and international environmental, human rights and tribal communities to create a strong coalition to stop the Great Whale hydro-electric project in northern Quebec. He was awarded Honorary Doctorate of Law degrees by Trent University in 1998 and by the University of Toronto in 2000.

Eric W. Cunningham - Director

Mr. Cunningham has been engaged as an independent mining consultant since 1996. He has been a director of Aurora Energy Resources Inc. since April 2006 and was formerly a director of Viceroy Exploration Ltd. Mr. Cunningham was the joint owner of the Golden Kopje Mine in Zimbabwe from 1997 to 2001 and general manager and director of Trillion Resources Inc. He also was Manager of Wright Engineers, and held various positions with Sherritt Gordon Mines. Mr. Cunningham holds a B.Sc in Geology from Rhodes University in South Africa.

Gerald J. Gauthier - Director

Mr. Gauthier is a mining engineer and since September 2008 has been Chief Operating Officer of Xtierra Inc. From August 2005 to June 2008, he was Chief Operating Officer of Nevsun Resources Ltd. From June 2004 until August 2005 he was a mining consultant and from December 2002 until April 2004, he was Vice-President, Mining of Glencairn Gold Corp. Mr. Gauthier has served as President and CEO of United Keno Hill Mines Limited prior to 2001, President, COO Santa Cruz Gold Inc. prior to 1999, and formerly Senior Vice-President Operations Lac Minerals Limited.

Brendan Lynch - Director

Mr. Lynch is an Independent Board Member of the Gerald Group. Previously, he was the Chief Financial Officer and Global Head Mergers & Acquisitions of the Gerald Group, an international commodities merchant. Mr. Lynch is a Chartered Accountant and obtained a Bachelor of Commerce Degree in 1995.

Danesh K. Varma - Director

Mr. Varma is a chartered accountant in Canada and in England and Wales, with over 20 years of experience in financial management. He is currently a director of Anglesey Mining plc and of Minco plc. In addition, Mr. Varma serves as the Chief Financial Officer of Minco plc, Conquest Resources Limited and Xtierra Inc.. Previously, he was President of Westfield Minerals Limited and a director of Northgate Exploration Limited.

Neil Steenberg - Corporate Secretary

Mr. Steenberg is Corporate Secretary. He has over 25 years experience in the practise of securities and mining law. Mr. Steenberg currently operates an independent business law practise. Prior to December 31, 2003, Mr. Steenberg was a Partner in the law firm of Gowling Lafleur Henderson LLP where he served as Chair of the firm's national corporate finance and securities practice group. He is currently a Director and Secretary of Xtierra Inc. and Secretary & Director of Conquest Resources Limited.

Home | Corporate Information | Shareholder Information | Projects | Environment & Social | News Center | Contact Us

© 2024 Labrador Iron Mines All Rights Reserved    |    Disclaimer & Privacy Policy